pearls

[Untitled]

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2006/12/02
Untitled

  - villanelle, originally posted as comment to Comes the Sun

Change my way of looking, through your charm.
Although we won't see all things eye to eye,
Don't look away, you're raising no alarm.

They've had me penned up in their funny farm
So I see things as stale and dark and dry.
Change my way of looking, through your charm.

The words in here have hit me like a swarm
But I'll remain outside. I need the sky.
Don't look away, you're raising no alarm.

Everyone's who's touched me's done me harm.
I trust no one. My whole world's gone awry.
Change my way of looking, through your charm.

Outside it's cold. But inside here it's warm.
I don't quite catch that in how I reply.
Don't look away, you're raising no alarm.

I stare down at the razor on my arm
And pause, then pull it back, I can't say why.
Change my way of looking, through your charm.
Don't look away, you're raising no alarm.

Tagged with: