pearls

Coming In Late

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2006/12/03
Coming In Late

Nancy's friend's OK I let myself in 
His kitchen door. He furnished me my key. 
He doesn't wake to ask me where I've been. 

It's time I had a different origin; 
I've been shut out too long, an absentee. 
Nancy's friend's OK I let myself in. 

As Nancy said he'd treat me, I'm like kin, 
A place to park with no admission fee; 
He doesn't wake to ask me where I've been. 

I've got vague plans for leaving, can't say when 
But don't intend to squat here permanently. 
Nancy's friend's OK I let myself in. 

As marked as Nancy was you'll find me thin, 
But he's been unconcerned with past debris. 
He doesn't wake to ask me where I've been. 

I've grown enough like her to be her twin 
So in his dreams I keep up her poetry. 
Nancy's friend's OK I let myself in. 
He doesn't wake to ask me where I've been.

Tagged with: , ,