pearls

For Keeps

Posted in sapphics by maggie on 2007/02/08

Wordless, lurking deep in your bedroom's shadows,
keeping every move under strict surveillance
fixed on opportunities, targets, tactics -
              passion's devices.

Played for keeps, this sport is no mere diversion
matching kiss for kiss like your bed's my chessboard,
sacrifices, gambits and traps conceiving
              mating positions.

Caught by your own strategies, captured victim!!
Want a rematch?  I'll let you make the first move.
Stakes?  The usual - loser submits to winner,
              winner takes loser.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. clarioretenebris said, on 2012/01/21 at 19:32

    Good stakes. May I challenge the winner to a match? I’m not the poor loser you may have heard rumored, and I pay all my debts in full.

  2. macheide said, on 2012/01/23 at 07:57

    Speaking of chess and other games, I think I’ve found what you wanted me to look into for your old roomie. Tell her I’ll put together detailed notes that I’ll send to her snail mail, but what she’s looking for is tucked away in a very rarified bit of math having to do with parity and orthogonality. I know, it doesn’t sound very poetic, but she will know better, as do you. Nice, very nice – tell her I’m quite impressed, and watch for the mail.

    • maggie said, on 2012/01/23 at 11:10

      Thanks, macheide, and let me know if you want me to send your note backstage again, I don’t think anyone will bother it out here, and I wanted to print the whole thing out for her to see in context, since I don’t think I would be able to get it straight trying to repeat it to her myself, but it’s been printed and sent, so I can drop it back private again if you wish. I’m looking forward to what she’ll do with your work on it, as I’m sure she is too. We’ll have to find a suitable way to thank you, her and me both.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

