pearls

Getting Through To You

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2007/03/09
Getting Through To You

- villanelle response with analyzed rhyme to ML's Fighting Feathers

Getting through to you could take a while.
It feels as if you're straight when I'm cold stoned.
Doing something right's just not my style.

Those words I've used for you, I know they're vile
- They're names of sins for which I've not atoned.
Getting through to you could take a while.

Like all the marks against me in my file,
I've wasted every moment I'd thought owned.
Doing something right's just not my style.

Don't try to gild an act that's merely guile
- That touch you sought's indefinitely postponed.
Getting through to you could take a while.

When you've gone hard to come the extra mile,
I guess I ought at least have telephoned.
Doing something right's just not my style.

And so this little room's my desert isle.
I'm lost, abandoned, homeless and disowned.
Getting through to you could take a while.
Doing something right's just not my style.

Tagged with: ,