pearls

Deserving Worse

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/01

But alright then, hit me with one of yours in purple,
surely I'm deserving worse.
At least you'll know why if I take it as slow as a turtle.

My preferences run with a garden that stays strictly herbal,
sans that vegetable curse.
But alright then, hit me with one of yours in purple.

My tongue ain't as gainful as yours, so deliciously fertile -
give me time to rehearse.
At least you'll know why if I take it as slow as a turtle.

I confess I don't get it - how do we get past our hurdle
by making it more perverse?
But alright then, hit me with one of yours in purple.

All I want is to be on my own, independent, not servile,
whom no one can coerce.
At least you'll know why if I take it as slow as a turtle.

When I feel as I do, it's not easy to make it sound verbal -
Black and blue's how I know to reimburse.
But alright then, hit me with one of yours in purple;
at least you'll know why if I take it as slow as a turtle.

Tagged with: ,