pearls

Gives Me No Peace

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/09

Trying to keep much of anything down inevitably's self-defeating -
my stomach's engaged in a war that leaves me no peace.
Give all of mine to someone more worthy.  Me, I'm done with eating.

Don't bother doing up a setting for me, nothing sounds all that entreating.
My asshole's starched stiff, my throat's all coated with grease.
Trying to keep much of anything down inevitably's self-defeating.

Whatever's leftover when I'm done wasting my time here, don't bother reheating,
there're more my share of pounds on me deserving decrease -
give all of mine to someone more worthy.  Me, I'm done with eating.

Like undisciplined delinquents expelled from school caught red-handed cheating,
consumption get purged of its unnatural caprice -
trying to keep much of anything down inevitably's self-defeating.

I did do one mouthful last Saturday night, its visit was laughably fleeting -
the morsel went all claustrophobic, so I gave it release.
Give all of mine to someone more worthy.  Me, I'm done with eating.

So just water, please - swallowing anything solid's not worth my repeating.
All attempts to digest must desist and cease!
Trying to keep much of anything down inevitably's self-defeating.
Give all of mine to someone more worthy.  Me, I'm done with eating.

Tagged with: ,