pearls

Off the Chart?

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/13
Off the Chart?

Why that look I've been set up to receive,
the one you worked up for me off the chart?
I thought you didn't want for me to leave,

at least not while there's so much to achieve,
with me here barely budged beyond a start.
Why, that look I've been set up to receive

must represent some incredible piece of peeve!
Should I even await the next break to depart?
I thought you didn't want for me to leave

with so much candle left to shadow eve.
I'd understand, were I so supposedly smart,
why that look I've been set up to receive

looks like I'd best rehearse my ass to grieve.
For me, that's still a science, not an art -
I thought you didn't want for me to leave.

It must be me, I'm incorrigibly incurably naïve,
but you ain't the only one to sport a heart.
Why that look I've been set up to receive?
I thought you didn't want for me to leave.

Tagged with: ,