pearls

To Which I Was Born

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/13

Without your eyes, I'll have to wander blind,
just one more weight to which I was born the heft -
to that end from the start I've been resigned.

In your blood wined and on your body dined,
a hole called you inside my life was cleft. 
Without your eyes, I'll have to wander blind,

any images to the contrary disinclined
to mirror the void built by my dream's theft. 
To that end from the start I've been resigned,

to that black silence thought with thrust aligned,
to that love's loss my hand's charge true and deft.
Without your eyes, I'll have to wander blind,

these holes I've given my face there to remind
me of the nothing of you of which I'm left.
To that end from the start I've been resigned.

According to all the files, I'm so defined:   
from your touch absent, of your sound bereft.
Without your eyes, I'll have to wander blind.
To that end from the start I've been resigned.

Tagged with: ,