pearls

Just Us

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/14

I slide down through the tunnel of your dreams.
No one else can see us.  It's just us.
(I'm here with you in mind, or so it seems.)

So now that we're together, let's swap screams,
you with my fierce shriek and me like thus.
I slide down through the tunnel of your dreams

as though that's how your death my life redeems,
your ache locked with my want in tender truss.
(I'm here with you in mind, or so it seems.)

From here on out, you get to choose our themes,
no footnotes needed, nothing to discuss -
I slide down through the tunnel of your dreams.

Tirades burst from our song, erupting streams
of sounds and image mixed with blood and pus.
(I'm here with you in mind, or so it seems.)

Let's keep between us, though, about our schemes,
just act like nothing's real and go nonplus.
I slide down through the tunnel of your dreams.
(I'm here with you in mind, or so it seems.)

Tagged with: ,