pearls

Converted by Force

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/17

I'll be damned if I'm going to live like y'all want me to be,
converted by force, my own doctrine under wraps.
Brava!  To hell in ash and smoke if I can't be me.

The market square's sold out - everyone's come out to see
me writhing like a wild beast against my straps.
(I'll be damned if I'm going to live like y'all want me to be.)

Tortured beyond belief for my weird heresy,
guest star of your pageant, auto-da-fé perhaps!
Brava!  To hell in ash and smoke if I can't be me.

The children throw taunts, a clown burns an effigy,
the priest passes judgment, the congregation claps.
(I'll be damned if I'm going to live like y'all want me to be.)

Yeah well, who gives a fucking flambé for mortality?
My sin and vice lip-synch a blasphemous score to taps.
Brava!  To hell in ash and smoke if I can't be me.

Offstage you stand like a statue, still true and free,
watching me take the heat for our relapse.
I'll be damned if I'm going to live like y'all want me to be.
Brava!  To hell in ash and smoke if I can't be me.

Tagged with: ,