pearls

Like I Know

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/20
Like I Know

I know his body like I know the street,
my stone cold making love to his sun's heat.
The intersection where our passions meet

plays home to each advance, each brief retreat,
surrendering all turf from head to feet.
I know his body like I know the street,

his bold display, my understood deceit,
our rage and edges crisscrossed on the sheet,
the intersection where our passions meet.

Deals get made, both public and discreet;
Trades go down, the virtuous and the cheat.
I know his body like I know the street,

his pulse as moving as the traffic's beat,
his style as cocky as the town's elite.
The intersection where our passions meet,

I'm local to.  It's perfect. Whole.  Complete . . .
until I feel the ache for its repeat.
I know his body like I know the street,
the intersection where our passions meet.

Tagged with: ,