pearls

A Little Break

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/22
A Little Break

I need a little break.  Don't worry, though,
I'm far enough along, so what the heck,
I'll only be away a week or so.

It's near two dozen days now, in a row,
enough to crash my head a minor wreck.
I need a little break.  Don't worry, though,

I'm not about to tell this challenge no,
nor steal too much vacation from the trek.
I'll only be away a week or so,

enough to catch my breath, to ease the flow,
to empty out the trash, to clear the deck -
I need a little break.  Don't worry, though,

it's just to do some work I feel I owe
some undivided focus for a sec.
I'll only be away a week or so.

I'm ok.  Just, for now I need to go
but vow return before you think to check.
I need a little break.  Don't worry, though.
I'll only be away a week or so --

I need a little break.  Don't worry, though,
I won't be far away nor gone that much.
I'm only heading off a week or so,

so doubt I'll be too missed by friend nor foe,
but if I am, just read back through the clutch.
I need a little break.  Don't worry, though,

I'll still round out this challenge folio -
its discipline's been quite a helpful crutch!
I'm only heading off a week or so

to see to things backstage and down below.
(So many empty pages left to smutch!!!
I need a little break.)  Don't worry, though,

this won't be left an incomplete tableau,
nor nonesuch breakdown, nor goodbye as such.
I'm only heading off a week or so,

but meanwhile don't accept the status quo -
let every moment feel your special touch.
I need a little break.  Don't worry, though --
I'm only heading off a week or so.

Tagged with: ,

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

