pearls

For a Wicked Hack

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/26
For a Wicked Hack

Alright, it's time I shoo my ass back to work.
"No rest," say the gods, "for a wicked hack."
(Hey, that's what we call it here. Don't smirk

so obviously.)  What flies next trades kneejerk
concessions to get my promises on track.
Alright, it's time I shoo my ass back to work--

tomorrow's not soon enough for me to shirk
assignments meant to cultivate my knack.
(Hey, that's what we call it here. Don't smirk

so convincingly.)  Ever so moderately berserk,
the city cuts my likelihoods some slack.
Alright, it's time I shoo my ass back to work--

next time I indulge the urge to lurk,
it won't be here.  I'm not a fucking lumberjack.
(Hey, that's what we call it here. Don't smirk

so coquettishly.)  Let's quit this present quirk,
before we reach our real pastimes out back.
Alright, it's time I shoo my ass back to work.
(Hey, that's what we call it here. Don't smirk.)

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maggie said, on 2016/04/05 at 13:58

    Alright, it’s time I shoo my ass back. To work!
    “No rest,” say the gods, “for a wicked hack.
    (Hey, that’s what we call it.) Here, don’t smirk.”
    Alright, it’s time I shoo my ass back to work
    fucking with their heads, my words designed to irk
    the hell out of them, my ink like sin, thick, black.
    Alright, it’s time. I shoo my ass back to work.
    “No rest,” say the gods, “for a wicked hack.”


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

