pearls

As Is the Norm

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/05/29
As Is the Norm

Your name showed up where all my others are
tattooed in bitter blood as is the norm.
That's funny. I don't recognize that scar.

To you my skin's just something else to mar
with you just one more insect on the swarm.
Your name showed up where all my others are

already over-crowded, all subpar,
my groupies packed like students in their dorm.
That's funny. I don't recognize that scar,

that line gone fading like a shooting star,
that lamplight disappearing in my storm.
Your name showed up where all my others are,

but couldn't keep up, couldn't stretch so far
as might have kept its bed and body warm.
That's funny. I don't recognize that scar -

there's nothing but a comic avatar
to prove to me you ever cast a form.
Your name showed up where all my others are.
That's funny. I don't recognize that scar.

Tagged with: ,