pearls

if i must sleep

Posted in pantoum by maggie on 2009/07/30
if i must sleep

how much more do we make this legend go?
i have to sleep some now against my will
i've worked it down to the last few things i know
it hurts me finding you and him there still

i have to sleep some now against my will
i want you haunting all my dreaming but
it hurts me finding you and him there still
why must i watch? why can't my eyes stay shut?

i want you haunting all my dreaming but
i know he'll run there too, he always does
why must i watch? why can't my eyes stay shut?
if dreams come true, i want them how it was

i know he'll run there too, he always does
at least if i must sleep, set no alarms
if dreams come true, i want them how it was
let sleep last until i wake up in your arms

at least if i must sleep, set no alarms
i've worked it down to the last few things i know
let sleep last until i wake up in your arms
how much more do we make this legend go?

Tagged with: , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dakasky said, on 2009/08/26 at 06:06

    I love your poems. Thanks you so much for sharing yourself. I used to work in the sleeep apnea industry. But, your writings encompass so much more emotions and life experience ANYONE can relate to… such beauty, and sullen trepidation. I adore it. Again, thank you. I shall keep reading.

    • lady maggie said, on 2009/08/26 at 19:04

      thank you for reading. especially today, it meant something special that someone found any beauty in any of the storms spilling out of my head

      as always, with a grateful nod to my friend and muse, ms. wwns


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

