pearls

from my surrender

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/09/01
from my surrender

there's no one left to whom i may repent
no adversary gains from my surrender
no god dead or alive hears my lament

i watched it all bleed out so used so spent
then paid its cost to my own heart's cruel vendor
there's no one left to whom i may repent

what is it in me love must circumvent
as though i were the dirt of my own gender?
no god dead or alive hears my lament

with nothing left to give i gave consent
now i'm as much the victim as offender
there's no one left to whom i may repent

might not the fury in me dare relent
enough at least to curse this sad pretender?
no god dead or alive hears my lament

it's gone and i must follow where it went
i can't create but i'm a damned good ender
there's no one left to whom i may repent
no god dead or alive hears my lament

Tagged with: ,

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

