pearls

come as a friend

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/09/02
come as a friend

when i look for an end
when my free will is lost
death, come as a friend

let peace on me descend
let pain and fear be tossed
when i look for an end

when no day's left to spend
when goodbye's worth its cost
death, come as a friend

let strength my sleep attend
let love be my riposte
when i look for an end

when prayers in blood are penned
when names are traced in frost
death, come as a friend

death, so gently bend
the words on which we've crossed
when i look for an end
death, come as a friend

Tagged with: ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dakasky said, on 2009/09/03 at 01:16

    What a lovely villanelle! (I just learned what that form is b/c of this poem.) Wanting the peace of death, when our free will is lost, wanting the pain and fear to be tossed. Been there before. I truly appreciate your poetry. Wishing you well. Love and light. Remember, this too shall pass.

    • lady maggie said, on 2009/09/03 at 02:39

      thank you. if i appear at times obsessed with the villanelle, i blame my admiration for those written by my dearest friend wwns, to whom i owe all i have ever learned of the form and whose own lurk in any light that shine through each one i attempt

      as for what may pass, thank you also for your kind thoughts. sometimes things do, i know


Comments are closed.