pearls

Nothing Special

Posted in nothing special, villanelle by maggie on 2009/09/08
Nothing Special

This here is all that's left inside my head -
a little thought I'll stretch into a line.
It's nothing special, just some stuff I said.

I'm under-qualifed. I'm not well read.
When asked for comment, I reply, "Looks fine."
This here is all that's left inside my head,

a head I've poorly exercised and fed,
nor can I harvest this with hopes to dine -
it's nothing special, just some stuff I said,

an echo of the silence I most dread,
a damaged pearl, no culture, no real shine.
This here is all that's left. Inside my head

I picture these hands muzzling me instead.
Who cares if I might rally or resign?
It's nothing special, just some stuff I said.

You'll lose track of me long before I'm dead.
The blank I'll fill with blanks - it's me, they're mine.
This here is all that's left.  "Inside my head
it's nothing special, just some stuff," I said.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Samantha said, on 2009/09/10 at 11:20

    “nothing special”? I think not. I think you have plenty left in your head, and I personally, feel privledged to catch a glimpse. This was a nother well written, and moving piece, Lady M.

    • lady maggie said, on 2009/09/10 at 12:44

      your reading and kind thoughts are felt and appreciated

      i look at each piece differently, hear another word in each – each one i think to be my last, imagine “that settles it.” that it will let me walk away done. anything holy and good i can’t give birth to, not live. but then it drags me back again, wanting more blood, stealing more breath. like nothing special, my usual bitching complaint. there may be plenty left in my head, but it all rots there like old shit. where’s the fire i had in my belly?

      but sorry. i do know this ain’t just about me. so again, sincerely, i do appreciate your words, your touch

      .lady m


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

