pearls

Just an Itch

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/09/19
Just an Itch

Pretend or real? I can't tell which is which
or what's supposed to happen if I could.
So, was that you I felt? or just an itch?

We work and beg and search to find our niche;
I'm fine if I were in the neighborhood.
Pretend or real? I can't tell which is which.

My conscience gets to me, the little snitch,
about some things I haven't done but should.
So, was that you I felt? or just an itch?

We want ours beautiful, brilliant and rich;
I'm fine if I knew simply where I stood.
Pretend or real? I can't tell which is which.

For you I wear no costume, not a stitch,
but if you told me take it off, I would.
So, was that you I felt? or just an itch?

You felt it too?  Yeah, isn't love a bitch!
I've got it bad - I think that means we're good.
Pretend or real? I can't tell which is which.
So, was that you I felt? or just an itch?

Tagged with: , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dakasky said, on 2009/09/20 at 03:42

    This made me laugh a little delightfully giddy Hee hee! It wasn’t an itch for me, but a tickle. Lovely poem. Now off I go. I gotta scratch an itch!

    • lady maggie said, on 2009/09/24 at 13:02

      i’d laugh along but mine turned into a rash and fool that i am i kept scratching deeper now have this big hole there so it must not have been what i mistook it for and now dammit i’m feeling it again in another part of me where i can’t reach so may i borrow your fingernails and your reach when you’re done with yours?

  2. Samantha said, on 2009/09/20 at 20:31

    Good question… and nicely put. It also made me chuckle… although, I know it is really expressing a more serious question. Still… the line about the snitch made me smile. My conscience is a little snitch too! 😉

    • lady maggie said, on 2009/09/24 at 13:07

      my conscience is not to be trusted gets herself off from making me eat my words which as you can see ain’t very appetizing and worse yet having to show them i swallowed while everyone’s still watching to make sure i did it right


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

