pearls

Fool’s Villanelle

Posted in villanelle by maggie on 2009/10/10
Fool's Villanelle

I've long admired the help wise words can bring
without which all our chatter turns to noise,
but poets have helped fools like me to sing.

We all could benefit from mentoring
for passing down the mastery one employs—
I've long admired the help wise words can bring
to educate the student to the thing,
like how a father should become his boys.
But poets have helped fools like me to sing
just any random breath my throat might fling
to turn a word that insults or annoys.

I've long admired the help wise words can bring
like gracious proclamations from a king
that everyone in audience enjoys.
But poets have helped fools like me to sing
my silly jests, my rude awakening,
as though a poem turns poison into poise.

I've long admired the help wise words can bring
but poets have helped fools like me to sing.

Tagged with: ,

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

