pearls

Asides 4

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2010/04/20

What happened was she made it up from scratch,
the histories of how things were that are,
to make it seem she'd known it all along.

I gave her background music down a patch,
harmonica along with my guitar,
as though I'd been there when she sang her song.

We all play parts to which our roles attach
not caring if that carries very far.
What part of her account did I do wrong?

To every mark I'd made she cut the match
aligning up our stories scar for scar,
her fragile body singing clear and strong.

    That's what she wanted, what her gods had willed,
    What brought her to me, then what got her killed.

Tagged with:

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

