pearls

To an Uncertain Silence

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2011/03/03
To an Uncertain Silence

Unhurried breath, because you will not wake
outside the closet in which secrets hide
some words I'd hoped to entertain, I've tried
disrupting your routines, thereby to break
your concentration, as if I might make
enough a difference to extend outside
your comfort zone, to lengthen out your stride
to stretch out past the next breath I should take.

Get used to it. Get up. Get out. Get on
with it. It's not as though you've got all day
to dream up what you'll give me after dawn
has taken you away from me. No yawn
can take the place of what I'll want to say
to fill the vacuum left after you're gone.

Tagged with: , ,

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

