pearls

Wish List

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2011/03/03
Wish List

No god above nor under me to please,
no man inside or outside me to serve,
no beast with or against me to subdue
nor home to keep or leave around the curve
— the only forces moving me are these:

intentionally creating something new,
remaining free to make up my own mind,
ensuring change will always come in threes,
reworking words past how they've been defined,
then being here when morning comes. And you.

Is that enough for now? or must I drive
to satisfy demands of all concerned
who've trained me to be what can't be unlearned?
Just you, then. Give me you, and I'll survive.

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dakasky said, on 2011/03/04 at 02:10

    I absolutely adore this one. 🙂


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

