pearls

A New Day’s Song

Posted in nothing special by maggie on 2012/01/19

The sun broke though this morning's overcast dawn
like the promise you left me coming and gone,
a promise that grows in me, true to your word
as a new day's song not slept through unheard. 

We each make believe we are safe, we are free,
we can become your love's responsibility
by your duty, your honor, the scars you receive
for realizing that which we've made we believe. 

Come home, then, come home whether not you're done
what they sent you to do or can say we'll've won. 
Come home, love, the time for waiting's all through. 
Come home to the child I'll have waiting for you.

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. clarioretenebris said, on 2012/01/19 at 14:31

    I know you don’t think it will happen, but I’m still hoping he returns in time to join you for the birth of that new day for all three of you.

    I’d love to hear you sing this. Your love surely must give your dreams the most precious voice.

    Love, C

    • maggie said, on 2012/01/19 at 14:50

      If he does, I’ll credit your faithful prayers. Bet you never thought you’d live to hear anyone tell you that.

      I went out walking this morning while it was still dark, then found myself singing something like this out loud when two geese flew over me as the sun came up bright through a hole in the clouds. I caught a glimpse of a sliver of moon too. Then it was cloudy all over again, but I couldn’t stop singing like the sun was still breaking through. I miss him so bad, and I’m no good at waiting, even when I have days to count down.

      Thank you, C.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

