pearls

Not Enough

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2012/01/21
 

I never could've been one you'd've kissed,
so's proudly boasted, how I don't deserve
your best since I decline to eat your fist.
I tried. I guess I just don't have the nerve
to use you like those other beings you know
who much prefer you'd never rise above
your worst. An other being? Not I, though
that means I'm but an object you can't love.

Can't love, nor ever did, not at our best
since your worst sets the standard in the end,
regardless how much better we'd expressed
a trust, a truth, a life we might combine
like every word held closer than a friend . . . .
(I knew them all.  I loved them all like mine.)

Tagged with: ,

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

