pearls

Early Dismissal

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2012/01/25
 

I've seen the end, it's come time to resign
what trivial mission may once have been mine.
The street from here on out's one angels walk
whereas I'm only words to you, just talk.
I hold nothing against you, that don't doubt,
but nothing more between us would work out.
One final kiss then. I've a train to catch,
with way too many loose threads to detach
and conflicts in my schedule to resolve.
You know - things in which we ought not involve
each other further. Say goodbye, best friend.
Who said so first won't matter to our end.

(I've never handled closings very well.
What the hell is wrong with me!  Do tell!)

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maggie said, on 2012/01/26 at 10:46

    In the end, being the first to say goodbye only means one spoke too soon. And in the end, being the one to have the last word only means one failed to speak up in time. Either way, it doesn’t really matter after it’s done. In this particular scene, the one I lost was the best friend I will ever have had, Nancy. And yes, too terribly true, in the end it never really mattered who said goodbye first.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

