pearls

Play As Though

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2012/01/25
 

A friend stands by a friend no matter what —
that's how I know a friend is what I ain't
since standing here I get kicked in the butt
while any casual customer's a saint.

I never had what they're prepared to pay
and can't put up with what they came to take.
It isn't you, that's all I guess I'll say;
it's just we never had much love to make.

Don't worry, you'll forget me once it's done.
What I'll remember? Never mind, I know -
"No strings to tie us down, all in good fun,"
so memories I keep'll play as though.

OK, let's split one final glass of wine.
I've seen the end, it's come time to resign.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. clarioretenebris said, on 2012/01/25 at 21:34

    I like how you passed this through your phantom pantoums. What a fantastic tangle!

    • maggie said, on 2012/01/26 at 10:51

      Need a razor to slice through it? *grin*

  2. maggie said, on 2016/09/19 at 05:28

    OK, let’s split one final glass of wine—
    you pour.
    I’ve seen the end. It’s come time to resign.

    What for?
    What memories we expect of this last glass
    you pour!

    From now on if you ever reach an impasse,
    call back
    what memories we expect of this last glass.

    Don’t attack
    the next love come calling like you did mine.
    Call back.

    No, no more,
    I’ve seen the end. It’s come time to resign
    the next love come calling like you did mine.
    OK, let’s split one final glass of wine.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

