pearls

As Easily Regret

Posted in quatorzain by maggie on 2012/01/31
 

Our sheets lie crumpled, stale untidy mess
I've not cleaned up yet, no.  Your cigarette
half finished, half remembered at its worst
extinguishes what's left of longing, yet
its ash makes your scent hang on all the less.

I wanted you with me here longer, yes.
Was vagueness in my eye that wound a net?
I want you still. That must be love, I guess,
or something I'll as easily regret.

But heed your friends' advice - Were you to let
me keep you here, it'd be to wild excess
you'd best abandon.  Home and family first!
And that way, as your allies no doubt stress,
you're trained to handle every foreign threat.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. maggie said, on 2012/01/31 at 11:20

    Hey Cyn, I owe you a terzanelle, right? Good call. Give me the week . . . right now I’m nicely lost in a trove of triolets. Let them take care of me enough, and they should make for some good background music to keep on when I get around to paying up on our bet.

    • clarioretenebris said, on 2012/01/31 at 14:50

      *chuckle* You must really be very busy with that triolet trove, or else you would have noticed I scored on one of our other bets too. You now owe me a villanelle along with that terzanelle, but yes I can be patient. You’ll be more careful about betting against me from now on, though. Want to bet me a ghazal on that one?

      As for this one, just remember, her sisters ain’t her nor her brother. YOU are home. And you ARE family. Not the smallest fingertip of you foreign, much less any threat.

      • maggie said, on 2012/01/31 at 23:10

        Quite right, terza and villa, as agreed. But watch out, I think you may have lost the other bet we had, so you may owe me one of your own.

        And thank you for your encouragement and help. Meaningful, effective, loving.

        • clarioretenebris said, on 2012/02/01 at 08:10

          Au contraire. On the bet, of course, not on your kind sentiments about a sincere hug, for what you’re facing with her other family and her other friends.

          But I think you may have jumped the gun on that other part of our bet. I’ll be nice and get started writing what I know you’ll win there in the end anyway, since that was a sucker bet if I ever saw one, said with no remorse at all since I knew that going in and love every bit of it, so ok I’ll get started writing, but I still think you’re way too early calling that hand played out yet.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

