pearls

When Next We Cross

Posted in rondeau by maggie on 2012/03/03
 

When next we cross, our kissing will be real
as real can get.  We'll not need to conceal
the secrets that have kept the one unheard
by dreams that to the other reoccured
as breath touched each idea with its ideal.

Instructions? I'll not need them, lover. We'll
remember how to do it. Time will heal
misunderstandings caught up by their word
              when next we cross.

You'll do it as I say it. You'll reveal
what I'd already started. This ordeal
we've had to go through? Lover, it's absurd
to think its smudges could have ever blurred
the rare unique exquisite touch we'll feel
              when next we cross. 

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sharp Little Pencil said, on 2012/03/03 at 15:32

    Maggie, this is exquisite. Your description of this love affair gave me a hot flash! A good one!

    The luxurious words you chose helped embroider this with such lovely care. Thanks, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/03/02/twofer-six-wd-sat-and-carnegie-hall/

  2. macheide said, on 2012/03/06 at 16:02

    Be well. You remain loved.

  3. macheide said, on 2012/03/08 at 04:04

    Your words are real because your heart is true. Don’t quit. You remain loved, and your love is a force that can not be refused.

    (Oh, and no, you’re not putting on weight. You’re creating a new life.)

    • maggie said, on 2012/03/08 at 08:55

      Words that are real. Yes. I’ve known you to be a man of your word.

      A promise can be refused. And if I refused it, I’ve known you to never force your will on me. No promise you’ve ever made has ever not been kept, except that it was first refused.

      But you’re right. Love can not be refused. It may be ignored. It may be misunderstood. It may be lied about, beat up, trampled on, twisted into what it never was meant to be. And still one can never separate from love. Love never quits. Never.

      Thank you for all. I’ll see you on the other side of this, my child in my arms. She will know you by your eyes, and she will smile up at you.

      (P.S. – D wanted me to thank you for him. I’ll get him to do that in person.)

    • maggie said, on 2012/10/21 at 14:42

      New life yes, and three times over.

      Thank you for your friendship and support and everything!

      M

  4. sarachnid said, on 2012/08/18 at 08:28

    We have crossed before, you and I. Your words have meant so much to me. When we cross again, you will know how much.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

