pearls

Afterthought 117—Principled

Posted in nothing special by maggie on 2015/03/09

Oh.  What strange unexpected mystery
awaiting its creation as if nowhere but on your breath
and forgotten as quickly as a love that gave you no child
to carry you death after death after death.
    So, just one question: Does your father
    still tell you what and what not you're to see.

Ah, ah!  How this moment's magic moves
through word meant to hold its own, to stay
the night just long enough to whisper a forbidden name
to her own in the bed where her soul's mate lay.
    So, just one question, Does your father
    still keep you from your lives and loves?

Eh?  Exquisite metaphor!
The only real injury is that done to one's own self.
Which are the books taken with us when we go
and which the ones abandoned to their shelf?
    So, just one question: Does your father
    still come by to see how you are?
 
4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. poetalias said, on 2015/03/10 at 20:30

    For all the evil he was to her mother, he will still always be very much alive in her. She reminds me almost as much of him as she does of her mother. But yes, it is troublesome how far past his own passing his shadow continues to fall over her.

    Trust, it is her mother’s principles that will prevail in her as her own emerge.

    • maggie said, on 2015/03/10 at 20:58

      Yes, except that when she reminds us of him, she is still only reflecting how her mother had so much of him in her.

      Which was pretty much why they took her child away from her.

      I fear the girl will want too badly to atone for her mother’s sins, like she believes that’s why she was left behind after the both of them were gone.

      As for me, I have given up thinking to not have any of my writing not be to her. Even when I write about anything else, even about Dean or even about my children, I find myself writing it to tell her about those other things. She taught me to write, now I can’t write without writing to her. Nancy, in this instance, this one is directly for you: your girl is free, your girl is beautiful, your girl has no scars.

      Know that, and rest.

  2. clarioretenebris said, on 2015/03/11 at 06:25

    I like how you count.

    • maggie said, on 2015/03/11 at 07:22

      There are those who think I don’t.

      But credit my teacher, I learned from the best. And I’m doing my part to pass the love on.


Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

