pearls

Afterthought 913—Sonnet -6

Posted in nothing special, sonnet, sonnet cycle by maggie on 2016/02/17
 
Conceived in doubt, whom he loves he must lose
his future to.  Another will come by
to pick it up for him.  He needn't try
convincing her to stay.  Another muse
will speak to his forgotten dream.  Excuse
him his regard for her.  Another sky
will open up on him.  Distrusting why,
whose child he fathers he cannot be whose.
 
My mother's nipple nursed me on his word
until my own kicked in. "Before he left
me stuck with you," she told me once, "He'd hoped
to live to see you cured.  I might've coped
with losing him, but not with your soul's theft.
Go after him. You'll know no other lord."
 
 
Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my appreciation and response.

