pearls

Sonnet 2 (another draft)

Posted in sonnet, sonnet cycle by maggie on 2006/12/01
 
	A ragged string of songs self-plagiarized
	should give my host his due. The most he asked
	of me is that these hundred days be tasked
	to Nancy's honor. Had I not realized
	his love for her, I might've eulogized
	her on my own, might not've come unmasked.
	Some questions, sir, are better left unasked.
	If I don't answer yours, don't act surprised.
	
	I don't belong here. I ought not've come
	so quickly after. Once I'd been released,
	I thought things might go back to how they were
	when she was here, with us the ones deceased
	and hers the pen these words were coming from.
	Perhaps if I could make me sound like her . . . .
	
Tagged with: , , ,

Sincere comment by readers who accept responsibility for their words will earn my respect, my appreciation and my response.